• 4
  • 11
    排行

米饭——日本料理之魂

如果被问及“日本料理中什么最重要?”我觉得还是当属米饭吧”。没错,“柳原料理教室”的柳原尚之如是说。柳原现在和父亲一成共同继承了爷爷敏雄所开的料理教室,这间教室面向家庭人士,指导日本料理和茶怀石的烹饪。
米饭是日本人的主食。我们称之为“下饭菜”的配菜,说它们是为了使米饭吃起来更香而存在也毫不为过。具体来说,我们会在米饭加味增汤的固定组合中,配以使用了酒、醋和甜料酒等发酵调味料的下饭菜。
柳原也指导茶怀石的做法和理念。茶怀石是为茶会配备的饭菜(为品茶而备的饭菜)。
“怀石料理是为迎接尊贵客人的料理。大家也许会将怀石料理想得比较复杂,其实只要对日常料理稍下功夫,表现出待客情意便足够了。也就是说追求到极致的家庭料理,便是正宗的怀石料理。”
寿司和天妇罗是世界有名的日本料理,但它们是由江户时代的小摊食品发展而来,与家庭料理不一样。
“可在短时间内随意品尝的小摊食品,以喝酒为主的餐饮店料理,它们与三菜一汤摆在一桌的家庭料理功能不同。米饭——作为家庭料理的重心,是不可或缺的重要存在”。

传承后世——日本家庭料理
中的四季交迭

柳原认为,日本家庭料理凝聚着文化和季节之美。在祈祷男孩健康成长的端午节,柴鱼会出现在桌面;而在七夕的时候,宛若银河的龙须面则会被奉上餐桌。像这样,食物会应时应景地伴随着日本传统节日而来。
日常三餐中,日本家庭也会积极选用时令食材。柳原同样也是根据季节教授学生各种不同料理。比如说春天水温上升,贝类变得美味的时候,柳原会指导带壳烤海螺及鸟蛤拌菜的做法。这种时候,主食选用拌入了时令竹笋和裙带菜的寿司。为搭配这些传统料理,柳原还会做一道富有现代风情的菜品——加入了番茄和青豌豆两种时蔬的鸡蛋汤。
柳原说,“爷爷开创柳原料理教室,源于一种‘日本料理正不断分崩离析’的危机感”。在海外文化流入,社会发生巨大变化的时代,家庭料理也受到巨大冲击。“小孩如果能吃到大人所做的像样的日本料理,那么日本的传统饮食文化、料理文化也会得到继承”。
“味觉在经验中积累。突然吃没吃习惯的东西,是难以感觉到美味的。”柳原补充说道。以米饭为重心,配以经过精心烹调,充分发扬时令食材本真滋味的下饭菜,细品其香甜可口。这种循环体验将成就日本美食的未来。

发扬光大——日本料理的
前世今生

另一方面,柳原还指出应该灵活地将时代变迁引入日本料理。
“在爷爷和父亲的年代只有产于日本的食材。烹饪工具也还在使用木炭等原料”。但现在日本可以从世界各地进口新鲜且种类丰富的食材,烹饪工具也得到进化,由此,烹饪方式也在一点点发生改变。
人们的味觉也不同于前了。柳原说,“按爷爷那一辈的菜谱照做的话,现代人也许会觉得口味偏重。如今清爽的口味更受青睐,人们讲究仔细调制汤汁,控制调味料用量,发挥食材原生滋味的烹饪方法”。柳原的工作还包括研制与时代相符的食谱方案。
最近,柳原的料理教室还有漂洋过海来听课的外国人。“想了解除了寿司、天妇罗和寿喜烧以外的日本料理”,据说有这种想法的外国人正在增多。
“他们尤其对日本的汤汁很感兴趣”。外国人常通过长时间熬制骨头和肉来引出汤的味道,在他们看来,日本的汤汁可以很快制成,但却花更多时间用于制作作为汤底的柴鱼片和海带,这是日本的独特之处。
从今年8月开始,柳原受日本文化厅公派,将作为文化交流大使对各国进行为期3个月的巡回访问。介绍日本料理的前世今生,传播其独特性,柳原为自己的使命感到自豪。

典型的怀石种类

  • 近前右起顺时针依次为带壳烤海螺、若竹寿司、青豌豆番茄鸡蛋汤、鸟蛤和草莓芝麻醋近前右起顺时针依次为带壳烤海螺、若竹寿司、青豌豆番茄鸡蛋汤、鸟蛤和草莓芝麻醋

柳原尚之最爱用的道具

  • 漂布

    漂布

    未经染色的棉布称为漂布。在日本料理中用途广泛,如调汤汁时用于过滤柴鱼片,或用于吸除食材的多余水分等等。柳原料理教室的漂布宽约34厘米,长约12厘米,根据具体用途剪开使用。

  • 粗孔竹篓

    粗孔竹篓

    日本水资源丰富,故经常采用“煮”、“焯”等用到水的烹饪方法。由此,沥水工具“竹篓”也成了烹饪宠儿。竹制的粗孔竹篓可与蔬菜等食材一起放入锅中烫煮并拿出。

  • 饭台

    饭台

    用于做寿司的米饭里拌有由盐、砂糖、醋调配而成的寿司醋,饭台是进行此项工作的必要工具。由于饭台由花柏木制成,可以吸收米饭及调味料的多余水分,使寿司饭更有风味。

  • 锅

    烹饪日本料理主食——米饭的工具。现在日本普通家庭主要用电饭煲煲饭,但柳原料理教室使用的是锅。所谓“煲”,是指将生米烹熟至可以食用。煲饭时必须使大米变软以方便食用,同时应排出水蒸气使米饭蓬松起来。煲饭是烹饪的基本。

荞麦面
SOBA
年糕
RICE CAKES
URUSHI
天妇罗
TEMPURA
富士山
Mt. Fuji
拉面
Ramen (Japanese soup noodles)
漫画咖啡屋
Manga cafe
日本酒
Sake(Japanese rice wine)
浅草
Asakusa
楼船
Yakatabune
东京站
Tokyo Station
豪德寺
Gohtoku-ji
泡盛
Awamori
公营市场
Public market
冲绳三弦琴
Sanshin
御岳
Utaki
时尚是展现自我的工具
传播地区魅力的吉祥物
觉得睡袋“Kawaii”吗?!
传承新一代“kawaii”的原宿女孩儿
舞妓
Maiko documentary
岚电
Kyoto Streetcar
浴池文化
Unique use of Kyoto bathhouses
纳凉台
Cool terrace in Kyoto summer
神户铁人28号
守护着神户和平的巨大机器人
御宅族照相机(OTAKU CAMERA)
谁都能变成漫画人物的软件
真空管耳机
介于梦与现实之间的关键道具
GAME BAR(游戏吧)
可以玩老游戏,大人们的汇聚地
金属餐具
Metal tableware
手巾
Tenugui (Japanese towels)
ANREALAGE
ANREALAGE
糖人
Candycrafts
束芋
TABAIMO
池田学
MANABU IKEDA
天明屋尚
HISASHI TENMYOUYA
草间弥生
YAYOI KUSAMA
那智扇祭
NACHI-NO-OGI MATSURI
三社祭
SANJA MATSURI
阿波舞
AWA ODORI
睡魔祭
NEBUTA MATSURI
NOH
弓道
KYUDO
柔道
JUDO
日本舞踊
NIHONBUYO
食品模型匠人
FOOD MODEL CRAFTSMAN
染织匠人
SENSHOKU-KA
江户切子玻璃匠人
EDOKIRIKO
甲胄师
KACCHU-SHI

• 86 COOL
  • 4
    Ranking

Gohan, steamed rice, is the
essence of Japanese cuisine

“If someone asks me what the most essential Japanese  food is, I answer that it’s steamed rice,” says Naoyuki Yanagihara of the Yanagihara School of Traditional Japanese Cuisine. Naoyuki (or Mr. Yanagihara) and his father, Kazunari, head this school founded by Naoyuki's grandfather, Toshio, to teach Japanese cuisine and cha-kaiseki (kaiseki cuisine for tea ceremony) to keepers of ordinary households.
Gohan, steamed rice, is the staple of the Japanese diet. It’s no exaggeration to say that okazu, side dishes, are prepared to make gohan supremely palatable. Gohan and miso soup go perfectly with okazu dishes cooked with such fermented seasonings as soy sauce, miso, sake, rice vinegar, and mirin sweetener that evoke the taste of rice.
Mr. Yanagihara teaches recipes and of concepts of cha-kaiseki. He says, “Kaiseki cuisines are for welcoming guests. People tend to think kaiseki is hard to deal with, but it was originally an expression of the spirit of hospitality through regular homemade food prepared with a little extra labor. So the ultimate home cooking is the essence of kaiseki cuisine.”
Sushi and tempura are renowned representatives of Japanese cuisine, but they originated from the culture of yatai food stalls in the Edo period, and are not considered to be regular household dishes.
The roles of yatai meals for casual, quick eating and ko-ryoriya meals for drinking differ from those of homemade meals that typically feature ichi-ju-san-sai (soup and rice bowls plus three side dishes) eaten at a dining table at home. Gohan, the essence of the homemade cuisines, is an indispensable food.

Passing down the joys of seasonal Japanese cuisines and ingredients to the next generations

Mr. Yanagihara says that Japan’s cuisine ingeniously reflects its culture and seasons. Japanese traditionally prepared meals featuring bonito for tango-no-sekku festivities celebrating boys’ healthy growth on May 5, and thin, white cold soumen noodles resembling the Milky Way of summer night skies for tanabata festivities on July 7.
As Japanese seek seasonal foods for their typical diets, Mr. Yanagihara teaches recipes that vary by season. So in spring, when warming seas enhance the taste of shelled seafood, he instructs others how to make broiled turban shells (sazae) and marinated Japanese cockles. He combines such side dishes in wakatake sushi, a staple food containing young bamboo shoots and seaweed. In addition to such traditional fare, he favors a more modern meal of an omelet-style dish with delicious spring tomatoes and green peas.
Mr. Yanagihara says, “My grandfather opened Yanagihara School because he felt that Japan’s fading dietary culture was in a state of crisis.” As Japan’s society, including its culture of home cooking, has changed with the incursion of Western cultures, he feels that “traditional diets can be sustained only if parents make traditional meals at home and children learn to appreciate their tastes.”
He adds that “how well we savor food largely depends on our experience with it, so we can’t truly relish what we suddenly start eating if we are unaccustomed to it.” In his view, the Japanese diet can be sustained only through daily enjoyment of meals, mainly of gohan along with side dishes made with the most suitable seasonal ingredients.

Teaching traditional as well as contemporary Japanese cuisine in Japan and abroad

Mr. Yanagihara is open to making Japanese cuisine more modern, although “for Japanese cuisine, my father and grandfather’s generations used only Japanese traditional ingredients, even charcoal for cooking.” Now, Japanese cuisine and its fans benefit from the advantages of fresh food imported from all over the world and the latest innovations in cooking equipment.
As Japanese tastes have become more sophisticated over the decades, Mr. Yanagihara wants to accommodate them: “Now more people feel that meals made by using my grandfather’s recipes are rather salty, and they prefer more lightly seasoned meals that take full advantage of ingredients' innate flavors accompanied by proper Japanese dashi soup stock.”
Lately, foreign visitors have been taking lessons in Mr. Yanagihara’s classes, reflecting growing interest in Japanese cuisine beyond sushi, tempura, and sukiyaki.
“They are especially interested in Japanese dashi soup stocks,” he says. Now, it takes much less time to make Japanese dashi bouillon than the lengthy process of boiling meat and bones to condense the umami taste into bouillon. However, in another unique aspect of Japanese food culture, it still takes a lot of time and labor to produce katsuo-bushi and kombu (dried kelp) that are dashi soup base.
Starting August 2015, Mr. Yanagihara will travel around the world for three months as a cultural emissary commissioned by the Agency for Cultural Affairs, essentially to promote intriguing aspects of traditional and contemporary Japanese dietary cultures.

Typical KAISEKI

  • (Clockwise, from front right) Broiled turban shell, wakatake sushi, tomato and green pea omelet, 
	       marinated Japanese cockles and strawberries with sesame vinegar(Clockwise, from front right) Broiled turban shell, wakatake sushi, tomato and green pea omelet,
    marinated Japanese cockles and strawberries with sesame vinegar

Naoyuki Yanagihara‘s Favorite Tools

  • Sarashi

    Sarashi

    Simple undyed cotton cloth called sarashi is used in various ways in Japanese cooking — for example, for sieving and removing katsuo-bushi from a saucepan to extract dashi soup stock, and wiping excess moisture from food. Pupils in Yanagihara School use such cloths of various sizes, cut from a bigger (0.34m wide x 12m long) piece of Japanese traditional base cloth.

  • Me-zaru — sieve basket

    Me-zaru — sieve basket

    Japan is blessed with water, and Japanese cooking uses ample amounts of it to boil (niru) and parboil (yugaku) food, so sieves are frequently used. Bamboo sieves (me-zaru) are convenient for picking up boiled vegetables from scalding water.

  • Handai

    Handai

    Rice used for sushi is mixed with sushi vinegar (sushi-zu) made of salt, sugar, and rice vinegar, and handai is an indispensable for preparing sushi rice. Since this tool is made of sawara cypress, excess moisture contained in rice and seasoning can be absorbed and minimized, for ideal preparation of sushi rice.

  • O-kama — rice steamer

    O-kama — rice steamer

    A pan exclusively for steaming rice, the staple of Japanese cuisine. Although electric steamers are popular in Japan, Mr. Yanagihara teaches how to steam rice using o-kama. The Japanese even have a verb, taku, used only for “boiling and steaming rice”. Ideally, cooked rice (gohan) is easy to eat, soft, plump, and without excessive moisture. The technique for making such ideal rice is a basic requisite applicable to boiling other food.

SOBA
蕎麦
RAMEN
ラーメン
SUSHI
寿司
URUSHI
漆芸
Sumo wrestler
大相撲力士
Japanese pub
居酒屋
Capsule hotel
カプセルホテル
Mt. Fuji
富士山
Tokyo Station
東京駅
Architecture Street
建築ストリート
Gohtoku-ji
豪徳寺
Roppongi Hills
六本木ヒルズ
Village of Long Life
長寿の里
Mango
マンゴー
Sanshin
三線
Resort beaches
リゾートビーチ
Italy
One Piece
Japan
(Original)
Japan
Saint Seiya
China
Kuroko's Basketball/ Magi
Cute community character promotes local charms.
Toybox kawaii shop shows people power.
Introducing Japan’s latest arts to the world.
Natural kawaii with new balance for future fashion.
Cool terrace in Kyoto summer
納涼床
Shohekiga
障壁画
Machiya bars
京町家の夜
Maiko documentary
舞妓
KOBE TETSUJIN 28-GO
mega-size robot who saves the peace in Kobe city
BRAIN WAVE CAT EARS
cutting-edge tech joins Japan’s “fetish” (moe) culture
OSAMU TEZUKA
creator of Japan’s manga and anime cultures
GAME BAR
a gathering spot for grownups where old games are available
Nambu ironware
南部鉄器
SIRI SIRI
SIRISIRI
Picks
楊枝
Japanese sake
日本酒
HISASHI TENMYOUYA
YAYOI KUSAMA
MANABU IKEDA
Nerhol
AWA ODORI
NIIHAMA TAIKO MATSURI
NACHI-NO-OGI MATSURI
SANJA MATSURI
KENDO
剣道
NOH
NIHONBUYO
日本舞踊
KARATEDO
空手