• 4
  • 9
    排行

从对芝麻的研究开始,
晋升到天妇罗行家。

能够品尝到最佳天妇罗的“清寿”位于筑地市场附近的大厦地下。店内仅设有料理台和13个座位,是一家简约主义风格的小型店铺,店内弥漫着茶室般的肃穆幽静的氛围。
店主清水良晃是一位拥有与众不同阅历的料理师。他最初的目标是从事农业,后来在农业研究中开始涉足料理领域。
“一开始我对芝麻的栽培很感兴趣,查阅芝麻的资料时开始把目光放在芝麻油上。使用芝麻油最多的地方是天妇罗店。为了学到更详尽的知识,我考虑进入一流的天妇罗店工作,在厨师学校学习后,就步入了这一领域”。
清水良晃一直以天妇罗厨师的身份在赤坂“乐亭”的老板门下修业。当他回过神来,发觉自己已经着迷于炸制天妇罗,并不断向前探索。最终经过努力学习,接受师父的教导后独立门户,创办了“清寿”。他始终站在料理台内的锅前,用心地炸制每一份天妇罗,然后端到客人的面前。

注重精选食材,
炸制最好的天妇罗

每天都会亲自挑选食材。由于店铺位于日本各地鱼类汇集的筑地市场附近,他很好地利用了步行即可到达的优势,在筑地市场精挑细选适合作天妇罗的鱼贝类,如才卷虾、墨鱼、扇贝、海胆、鱚鱼、大眼鯒、海鳗等食材。
“日本银鱼也有不同的产地,比如穴道湖、桑名、赤穗。今年在赤穗的船曳打捞的银鱼品质较好。虽然头部较硬,但是炸制得当的话会成为最佳的天妇罗。每年即使是在同一时期、同一场所捕到的鱼也未必就味道一样鲜美。”
另外则采用应季的蔬菜。有些食材直接采摘自农家,店内使用的都是经过严格筛选过的食材。
“天妇罗的食材选用也会因季节而有所变化。蔬菜方面,冬季时选用根茎类的蔬菜较多。到了春天,款冬的茎等开始抽芽,独特的苦味会让人感到春天的降临。我们会将采购的新鲜食材作成天妇罗后自己先品尝,再决定是否在店里卖。自己尝试过后才会端到客人的面前,这是我的一贯风格。”

炸制美味天妇罗的技巧

炸制天妇罗的技巧建立在极其细致的工序上。清水先生先将食材裹上面粉,再包裹上一层面衣后放入油锅中。
“虽然也有不涂面粉、裹上面衣后就直接油炸的方法,但我是按照师父教给我的方法油炸的。制作面衣的程序是在面粉中加入鸡蛋和清水搅拌,但不能混合过度,否则容易产生谷胶,水分就不易脱去,炸出来的天妇罗就不够爽脆。给客人上菜时一人份的炸虾有两只。油炸同样的虾时也需要改变第一只虾和第二只虾的面衣结实程度,因为油炸第二只虾时的油温会更高一些。”
天妇罗炸虾的面衣炸制香脆、且虾肉保留水分时,会产生绝妙的清甜口感,第二只炸虾与第一只相比,虾肉的油炸程度更生鲜,相同的食材却能够在唇齿间化作不同的风味。
“清寿”的天妇罗仅提供一种套餐。清水先生会将精选的食材油炸后一样接一样地端到客人面前。看着客人趁热品尝眼前一份份刚炸好的天妇罗,是最奢侈的享受。

典型的天妇罗种类

  • 虾
  • 墨鱼墨鱼
  • 款冬茎款冬茎
  • 银鱼银鱼
  • 蚕豆蚕豆
  • 莲藕莲藕
  • 香菇炸虾香菇炸虾
  • 海鳗海鳗

清水良晃最爱用的道具

  • 菜刀(切鱼刀/中等尺寸)

    菜刀(切鱼刀/中等尺寸)

    这些切鱼刀属日式菜刀,仅单刃,极其锋利,用来处理和切开烹饪材料中的鱼类。在清寿,则常用来切鱚鱼和大眼鯒等小鱼,有数把不同大小的菜刀供使用。

  • 筷子(盛筷)

    筷子(盛筷)

    不锈钢制的盛筷,在炸制天妇罗的时候使用。筷子的分量能恰到好处地把握食材的油炸程度。购于一间名为正本总本店的厨具店,但据说现在已经不再生产同样重量的筷子了。

  • 漏勺

    漏勺

    对于清水先生来说漏勺是不可或缺的道具之一。在搅拌制作面衣的面粉(小麦粉)前作为筛子使用。同时,也是炸什锦(小扇贝或虾类)搅拌食材时不可或缺的工具。

  • 筷子(衫筷)

    筷子(衫筷)

    筷子的材质是杉树。对于清水先生来说筷子轻便是最重要的。因为总希望使用干净的筷子,弄脏以后就用新的来代替。杉筷在制作面衣时使用,所以任何时候和面衣的触感都需要保持一致。

  • 锥子

    锥子

    在处理天妇罗不可或缺的食材——海鳗时使用的厨具。呈冰锥形状。用锥子将海鳗的头部固定在砧板上,并以此为起点,用切鱼刀从背部切割海鳗。

  • 锅

    使用被称作铜锡合金的金属制成的锅。热传导率较高,适合炸制天妇罗。由于每天细心养护,锅具洁净如新。如今使用的锅是从过世的师父、赤坂“乐亭”的店主继承而来的。

拉面
RAMEN
关东煮
ODEN
荞麦面
SOBA
年糕
RICE CAKES
拉面
Ramen (Japanese soup noodles)
按摩椅
Massage chair
旋转寿司
Sushi-go-round
新一代自动售货机
Ultramodern vending machine
六本木新城
Roppongi Hills
东京塔
Tokyo Tower
江戸前寿司
Edomae Zushi
楼船
Yakatabune
度假海滨
Resort beaches
红树林
Mangroves
长寿村
Village of Long Life
牛排屋
Steakhouse
传承新一代“kawaii”的原宿女孩儿
自然的“Kawaii”,新平衡
再现80年代的“Kawaii”
日本是吸引外国人的 “Kawaii ” 天堂
谚语
Kyoto Proverbs
摩登分趾鞋袜
Modern jikatabi
虹夕诺雅 京都
HOSHINOYA Kyoto
舞妓
Maiko documentary
神户铁人28号
守护着神户和平的巨大机器人
宇宙兄弟
描绘年轻人寄托于宇宙之“梦”的超人气漫画
鸟取的妖怪之路
妖怪和人类共生的小城
GAME BAR(游戏吧)
可以玩老游戏,大人们的汇聚地
锦鲤
Nishikigoi
手巾
Tenugui (Japanese towels)
ANREALAGE
ANREALAGE
百货店地下
Department store basement
束芋
TABAIMO
小畑多丘
TAKU OBATA
天明屋尚
HISASHI TENMYOUYA
名和晃平
KOHEI NAWA
三社祭
SANJA MATSURI
睡魔祭
NEBUTA MATSURI
那智扇祭
NACHI-NO-OGI MATSURI
阿波舞
AWA ODORI
書道
SHODO
柔道
JUDO
日本舞踊
NIHONBUYO
空手
KARATEDO
武士图库
SAMURAI AVATAR
食品模型匠人
FOOD MODEL CRAFTSMAN
茶室风建筑木匠
SUKIYA-DAIKU
甲胄师
KACCHU-SHI

• 166 COOL
  • 4
    Ranking

The tempura master who came from sesame research

Seiju, which serves finest-quality tempura cuisine, is located in the basement of a building near Tsukiji Market. With seating for only 13 customers as well as simple and minimal design, the restaurant has a serene atmosphere like a Japanese traditional tearoom.
As Restaurant Chief, Mr. Yoshiaki Shimizu is a master chef from a rather unusual background. While he originally aimed to be a farmer, his studious habits brought him into the world of tempura.
He says, “Since I was curious to grow sesame, I wondered what product uses the most sesame. Sesame seed oil, I realized. And what kind of job uses the most sesame oil? A tempura restaurant. Because I wanted to know more about it, I decided to work at a first-rate tempura restaurant. To do so, I studied at a cooking school and then entered this world.”
As a tempura artisan, he continued training under the expert restaurant chief at Akasaka Rakutei. But tempura intrigued him. Before he realized it, he was trying to master tempura cooking. After years of training, he became independent from his master and opened Seiju. He stands by himself before a tempura pan near the counter and fries tempura piece by piece, serving them courteously to customers.

Dedication to selection
of ingredients for frying
the best tempura

Every day, Mr. Shimizu sees and selects foods himself. He looks for seafoods best suited to tempura, taking advantage of locations within easy walking distance of Tsukiji Market. In particular, he checks for seafood selections like prawn, squid, scallops, sea urchin, kisu (Sillago japonica), megochi (Suggrundus meerdervoortii), anago (conger eel), etc.
He says, “For example, shirauo (icefish) are from various areas like Shinjiko, Kuwana, and Akoh. This year, shirauo from Funabiki, Akoh, are the best. Their head parts are rather stiff, but if successfully fried, they’ll make really delicious tempura. However, fish from the same port at the same time of year are not necessarily equally delicious every year.”
He buys fresh vegetables in their best season. Depending on the vegetable, he orders directly from farms and uses strictly selected food ingredients for tempura. He says, “Tempura varies materials by season. Winter is good for root vegetables, but since spring is a growth season, tempura is energized, too. Butterbur sprout is a good example. Its unique bitterness foretells the arrival of spring. We fry tempura and taste-test it prior to serving customers to see whether we can offer it. Serving our tempura to customers only after tasting is our style.”

Tips and methods for the best frying results

Tempura frying technique consists of a series of meticulous steps. Mr. Shimizu first puts flour on raw materials, then adds koromo (tempura batter) on them, and places them in hot oil to fry.
He says, “There’s a style of putting koromo directly on raw materials. But I follow the style my master taught me. To prepare koromo, I add egg water to flour and beat it. But I don’t beat too much because over-beating creates gluten that tends to hold moisture, resulting in soggy rather than crispy fried coating. I serve two shrimps at a time to one customer, but I change thickness of koromo for the second shrimp when frying it. This is because the oil temperature is higher when frying the second piece of shrimp.”
In Seiju, shrimp tempura koromo is crisply fried and shrimp itself is cooked with consummate skill to retain succulence and sweet taste. The second fried shrimp is a little more rare inside. That way, customers can enjoy different tastes through two shrimps.
Seiju provides only one type of course menu. Mr. Shimizu fries his selection of ingredients and serves one food at a time to customers. They can enjoy the luxury of having fresh-from-the-fryer tempura “art” placed right before them.

Typical TEMPURA

  • ShrimpShrimp
  • SquidSquid
  • Fukinotou (butterbur sprout)Fukinotou
    (butterbur sprout)
  • Shirauo (icefish)Shirauo
    (icefish)
  • Broad beansBroad beans
  • Renkon (lotus root)Renkon
    (lotus root)
  • Shrimp with stuffed shiitake mushroomsShrimp with stuffed
    shiitake mushrooms
  • Anago (conger eel)Anago
    (conger eel)

Yoshiaki Shimizu's Favorite Tools

  • Kitchen knives(deba-bocho/medium size)

    Kitchen knives
    (deba-bocho/medium size)

    Deba-bocho is a type of Japanese single-edged kitchen knife, which has an extremely sharp edge and is convenient for preparing fish products. In Seiju, this type of knife is often used to fix small fish like kisu and megochi. Knife sizes vary and the right size is chosen to meet the need.

  • Chopsticks (mori-bashi)

    Chopsticks
    (mori-bashi)

    A pair of stainless chopsticks is used for frying. In making tempura, it’s critical for the master to sense how far the food is fried. That’s why Mr. Shimizu uses this pair of chopsticks, purchased from a cooking utensil shop called Masamoto Souhonten. But now, chopsticks of the same weight are no longer available.

  •  Punched ladle

    Punched ladle

    This is an indispensable tool for Mr. Shimizu. A ladle with punched holes is used just like a sieve when adding a controlled amount of flour to the batter. This is also used for beating ingredients — such as shrimp and the adductor of surf clams — into batter to fry kakiage-type mixed tempura.

  • Cedar chopsticks

    Cedar chopsticks

    Japanese cedarwood is used to make lightweight chopsticks, which are essential to Mr. Shimizu. Since he constantly wants to use a pair of clean chopsticks, he frequently replaces them with a new pair. The same kind of cedar chopsticks is always used to make koromo batter, and he can sense the batter condition through these utensils.

  • Meuchi

    Meuchi

    This tool is especially designed to prepare anago, so it’s a must-have utensil for making tempura. The shape is like an icepick. This is used to immobilize an eel’s body on a chopping block by spearing its head when cleaving the body up the back with a deba-bocho knife.

  • Pan

    Pan

    This frying pan is made of hokin (gunmetal). Thanks to its effective thermal conduction, this pan is ideal for tempura. Mr. Shimizu’s pan looks beautiful because he never neglects daily maintenance. The pan is inherited from his master — the chief of Akasaka Rakutei — who is now deceased.

TEMPURA
天婦羅
RICE CAKES
KATSUOBUSHI
鰹節
WASABI
山葵
Mt. Fuji
富士山
Sumo wrestler
大相撲力士
Japanese pub
居酒屋
Hot spring spa
温泉
Novels of Haruki Murakami
村上春樹の小説
Edomae Zushi
江戸前寿司
Edo kiriko
江戸切子
Shinjuku
新宿
Public market
公設市場
Steakhouse
ステーキハウス
Awamori
泡盛
Lunch “A”
Aランチ
Italy
One Piece
Japan
ANA
Korea
Hakuohki / Adekan
Japan
Neon Genesis EVANGELION
Outdoor girl finds kawaii in a sleeping bag.
I want to create awesome kawaii nail art.
Cute community character promotes local charms.
“Twintail” — simple dream-come-true magic for change.
HOSHINOYA Kyoto
星のや 京都
Stay at Machiya
京町家ステイ
Art of brush and ink
書道家
Maiko documentary
舞妓
ANIME PILGRIMAGE
a quest to visit locations relating to stories and characters
TOTTORI YOKAI ROAD
where yokais and humans live together
NEXT GENERATION
TOYOTA x STUDIO4°C collaboration begins a new PES Project called “Next Generation”
GAME BAR
a gathering spot for grownups where old games are available
Hasamiyaki ceramics
波佐見焼
Elevator attendants
エレベーターアテンダント
Department store basement
デパ地下
Japanese sake
日本酒
HISASHI TENMYOUYA
TAKU OBATA
YAYOI KUSAMA
TABAIMO
NEBUTA MATSURI
MENBURYU
NACHI-NO-OGI MATSURI
NIIHAMA TAIKO MATSURI
KARATEDO
空手
NOH
KYUDO
弓道
SADO
茶道
KACCHU-SHI
甲冑師
SAMURAI AVATAR
侍アバター
KATANA-KAJI
刀鍛冶
FOOD MODEL CRAFTSMAN
食品サンプル職人