• 8
  • 4
    排行

历经90年,
始终坚持创新的日本威士忌

三得利山崎蒸馏所位于京都府边境、大阪府东北部。此地自古以来以水质优良闻名于世,1923年日本第一家麦芽威士忌蒸馏所在这里开工,并且持续运营了90多年。近年来,日本产威士忌在世界范围内广受好评,而作为三得利引以为豪的蒸馏所,这里可以堪称为其发祥地。
“创业当时,一切都是从学习苏格兰威士忌的制作工艺开始的。我们一直追求的是要拥有在全世界都引以为豪的高端品质以及具有日本独特的风味。为此,我们一方面坚持苏格兰威士忌的古法酿造,一方面力求持续创新。”
90多年的积累,正是现在广受好评的基础。现担任名誉首席调配师的舆水精一先生这样告诉我们。至今为止,“山崎”、“響(HIBIKI)”等三得利威士忌的代表品牌都是舆水精一先生亲自推出的,不愧是调配师业界的第一人。

永不满足的探索心,
正是威士忌酿造的秘诀

山崎蒸馏所里有16台各种形状的蒸馏釜,用于分别酿造各种威士忌原液。这一特征在全世界也是十分罕见的。公司自己酿造种类丰富各具特色的原液,并将数种原液调配后,最终制成复杂酒香的威士忌。这就是三得利威士忌的制造方式。
“我觉得这也算是日本制造的一种表现吧。连细微之处都追求精益求精,绝不满足于现状。这种严谨到刻板的匠师气质的工作风格,在这里随处可体现。只要我们持之以恒力求改善,日本的威士忌今后必将不断进步。”
据说,对于制造威士忌拥有40多年经验的舆水先生而言,现在也仍会有新的发现,并被这条探索之路所深深地吸引。
“即使全部用最佳的原液,调配出来的威士忌也未必就好喝。此外,风味的平衡确实很重要,但这也不代表要磨平所有的棱角。如何充分发挥每一种原液的个性,引导出威士忌的独特魅力是至关重要的。”

日本威士忌的再度流行,
源自“Highball”这种喝法

威士忌有一种叫“Highball”的美味饮用方法,这是一种威士忌兑苏打水的鸡尾酒,兑姜汁啤酒或可乐的饮用方法也被称为Highball。昭和30年代(1955~1964年)以电视广告为契机形成了一股热潮,近几年,Highball的人气又再度高涨。对此,我们采访了引爆Highball风潮,自称“Highball之馆”的银座名店“Rock Fish”的店主间口一就先生。
“我们店的做法是,在低温的玻璃杯中倒入在冰箱中冷却的威士忌60ml,加兑190ml的苏打水,最后兑上柠檬啤酒增加香味。因为苏打水是一下子兑进去的,所以不使用搅拌棒,也不加冰。Highball是一种适合大家热热闹闹一起享用,令人愉悦的酒品。不挑下酒菜,搭配任何菜品都很合适。”
在我们店里,油浸沙丁鱼罐头是最受欢迎的下酒菜。将食物沥掉油以后,加上酒和酱油,撒上少许山椒粒,直接烘烤2~3分钟,烤至微温即可上桌。间口先生表示,如果是威士忌的话,比起麦芽威士忌更推荐混合型威士忌。间口先生说混合型威士忌中,使用“三得利威士忌角瓶43度 复刻版”是自己的特色。自己在家制作Highball时,因为每次都容易过浓,所以用同样浓度的威士忌制作才好喝。

典型的威士忌种类

  • 白州白州
  • 響(HIBIKI)17年響(HIBIKI)17年
  • 山崎山崎
  • 角瓶角瓶

舆水精一最爱用的道具

  • 品酒杯

    品酒杯

    调配师工作中不可或缺的品酒杯。因为有时需要确定兑水后的风味变化,杯子上都标有刻度。据说工作繁忙时,一个上午就要品评200个样品。

木鱼花
KATSUOBUSHI
关东煮
ODEN
寿喜烧
SUKIYAKI
米醋
RICE VINEGAR
温泉
Hot spring spa
漫画咖啡屋
Manga cafe
富士山
Mt. Fuji
筷子
Chopsticks
保护行人交叉路口
Scramble crossing
东京站
Tokyo Station
村上春树的小说
Novels of Haruki Murakami
楼船
Yakatabune
公营市场
Public market
A午餐
Lunch “A”
长寿村
Village of Long Life
首里城
Shuri Castle
风靡世界的日本艺术
时尚是展现自我的工具
传承新一代“kawaii”的原宿女孩儿
自然的“Kawaii”,新平衡
百鬼夜行
Yokai Costume Parade
赏月晚会
Moon watching
浮水占卜
Mizuura Mikuji
洒水
Uchimizu
御宅族照相机(OTAKU CAMERA)
谁都能变成漫画人物的软件
藤子・F・不二雄博物馆
将孩子们的梦视觉化的漫画家
阿基拉摩托车
从大友克洋的“阿基拉”中飞驰而来的摩托车
鸟取的妖怪之路
妖怪和人类共生的小城
锦鲤
Nishikigoi
包装
Wrapping
SIRI SIRI
SIRI SIRI
南部铁器
Nambu ironware
束芋
TABAIMO
池田学
MANABU IKEDA
小畑多丘
TAKU OBATA
名和晃平
KOHEI NAWA
三社祭
SANJA MATSURI
那智扇祭
NACHI-NO-OGI MATSURI
睡魔祭
NEBUTA MATSURI
阿波舞
AWA ODORI
空手
KARATEDO
茶道
SADO
NOH
剣道
KENDO
江户切子玻璃匠人
EDOKIRIKO
水墨匠人
SUMI-SHOKUNIN
武士图库
SAMURAI AVATAR
茶室风建筑木匠
SUKIYA-DAIKU

• 43 COOL
  • 12
    Ranking

Japanese whisky keeps evolving even after 90 years of innovations

Suntory Yamazaki Distillery in Osaka pref. near Kyoto has been a home of fine water from ancient times. This is the first malt whisky distillery in Japan, which began groundbreaking in 1923 and has operated for over 90 years. In recent years, Japanese whisky has earned a worldwide reputation for high quality. This distillery can be called the birthplace of all today’s Japanese whiskies.
“Naturally, when the company was founded, we started out by learning to make Scotch whisky. But we aimed to create world-class quality with uniquely Japanese taste that we could proudly present. So we’ve continued to introduce innovations while sticking to the original production process of Scotch whisky.”
“90 years of innovations have culminated in the high reputation of today,” says Seiichi Koshimizu, the emeritus chief blender. Mr. Koshimizu is the foremost blender of Suntory, who brought Suntory classics such as Yamazaki and Hibiki to the world.

Unceasing quest becomes the engine of whisky making

There are 16 pot stills (distillation stills) of various shapes at the Yamazaki Distillery and each still is used to produce a distinct type of whisky. This is a unique characteristic of the distillery that is almost unparalleled in the world. Producing various whiskies in a distillery and blending them to create whiskies with complex aromas — this is the Suntory way.
“I think this represents unique Japanese manufacturing. You can find artisanal spirit in attention to detail and a strong will to improve in every process of production. As long as the workers continue to build on the tradition of improvement, I believe Japanese whiskies will achieve further advances.”
Mr. Koshimizu, who has spent over 40 years in whisky making, still encounters new discoveries today. And this is what enthralls him about whisky making.
“Blending well-made whiskies does not necessarily produce a good-tasting whisky. Also, while the balance in flavor is important, it does not simply mean making the blend mild by softening the edge of taste. What’s most important is to draw out the distinctive quality of each whisky and give a character to the final product.”

“Highball” revitalized the Japanese whisky market

“Highball” is one of many ways to enjoy whisky. It’s a cocktail of whisky and soda. We call whisky and ginger ale or whisky and cola “highball” as well. It was first popularized by TV commercials in the 1960s, and it has become popular again in recent years. We went to interview Kazunari Maguchi of Ginza “Rock Fish” bar, the self-proclaimed “house of highballs” which ignited the 21st century highball boom.
“In our bar, we pour 60ml of whisky into a glass that has been cooled in the freezer, then add 190ml of soda. A lemon peel is added for flavor. We pour the soda quickly so muddling isn’t necessary. We don’t even put in ice cubes. Highballs are great for a group having a fun time. They go well with any type of food so people can enjoy a wide range of cuisines.”
An appetizer made of canned sardines in oil is popular among the bar patrons. The simple recipe is as follows. You add sake and soy sauce to the sardines (oil removed), and simmer for 2 to 3 minutes with Japanese pepper berries on top and a hint of black pepper. According to Mr. Maguchi, this goes better with blended whisky than malt whisky. His style is to use “revived” Suntory Whisky Kakubin 43%. The trick to enjoying highballs at home is constant strength, as drinks tend to get stronger as you go.

Typical WHISKY

  • HakushuHakushu
  • Hibiki (17 years old)Hibiki (17 years old)
  • YamazakiYamazaki
  • KakubinKakubin

Seiichi Koshimizu's Favorite Tools

  • Tasting glass

    Tasting glass

    Tasting glasses are indispensable to the work of blenders. Scale lines are inscribed on the glasses for tasting watered-down whiskies to evaluate changes in taste. Blenders may taste up to 200 samples before noon only.

KATSUOBUSHI
鰹節
URUSHI
漆芸
SUKIYAKI
すき焼き
WASABI
山葵
Gyudon(beef-on-rice bowl)
牛丼
Itsukushima Shrine
厳島神社
Public bathhouse
銭湯
Food model
食品模型
Roppongi Hills
六本木ヒルズ
Monja
もんじゃ
Yakatabune
屋形船
Tokyo Station
東京駅
Okinawa soba
沖縄そば
International Avenue
国際通り
Mangroves
マングローブ
Taketomi Island
竹富島
Singapore
Hakuohki
Japan
(Original)
Japan
Neon Genesis EVANGELION
Taiwan
Mobile Suit Gundam
Toybox kawaii shop shows people power.
The color wizard behind 80s kawaii revival.
Outdoor girl finds kawaii in a sleeping bag.
I want to become Hello Kitty, the icon of Japan.
Viewing Japanese gardens in Kyoto
日本庭園
Kyoto Streetcar
嵐電
Nurturing the arts
京都ギャラリー
Aburi-mochi
あぶり餅
KOBE TETSUJIN 28-GO
mega-size robot who saves the peace in Kobe city
TOTTORI YOKAI ROAD
where yokais and humans live together
OTAKU CAMERA
the app that makes anyone a manga character
ANIME PILGRIMAGE
a quest to visit locations relating to stories and characters
Tenugui (Japanese towels)
手拭
Japanese sake
日本酒
Picks
楊枝
Department store basement
デパ地下
HISASHI TENMYOUYA
TABAIMO
MANABU IKEDA
KOHEI NAWA
SANJA MATSURI
AWA ODORI
NIIHAMA TAIKO MATSURI
NEBUTA MATSURI
SHODO
書道
NOH
IAI
居合
KARATEDO
空手
FOOD MODEL CRAFTSMAN
食品サンプル職人
SUKIYA-DAIKU
数寄屋大工
KATANA-KAJI
刀鍛冶
EDOKIRIKO
江戸切子職人
SHOGI
SHOGI
GAME CREATOR
GAME CREATOR
GAME CENTER
GAME CENTER
e-Sports
e-Sports